Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Project A14: Two-Scale Thermo-Mechanical Simulation of Hot Stamping

Person in Charge: Dipl.-Ing. Rudolf Neumann
Motivation:
So far, there are no models that are able to represent a continuous constitutive modelling of hot stamping considerng both an anisotropic material behaviour in austenitic state and the kinetics of phasetransformation during hardening by means of thermo-micromechanical models (TMM). Hence a method is developed to simulate the forming of an austenitic device with texture based models as well as the thermal treatment. Therefor, for the homogenization, a nonlinear model of Hashin Shtrikman type and, for the description of the phasetransformation, the Johnson-Mehl-Avrami and Koistinen-Marburger model are used. By the combination of a homogenization method  with models for the phasetransformation it is possible to predict the eigenstresses due to phasetransformation. By considering the enthalpy of phasetransformation in the TMM the coupled thermo-mechanical homogenization is realized.
Investigations:  Results:

The first project phase considers the simulation of forming of an austenitic device by texture based models and by use of nonlinear models for the homogenization. In the second phase of this project, models describing the phasetransformation during quenching are integrated. Altogether, the following steps are necessary:

  • Formulation of a two-scaled crystal plasticity model with a homogenization method of the Hashin Shtrikman type
  • Formulation of the Johnson-Mehl-Avrami model and Koistinen-Marburger model
  • Parameteridentification for presshardenable steel
  • Simulation of hot forming
  • Continous simulation of hot stamping
So far, the nonlinear homogenization method of the Hashin-Shtrikman type is formulated and implemented into the commercial FE-solver Abaqus. Some computations and parameter studies have been accomplished for a microstructure composed of two homogenous, isotropic and ductile phases.
Furthermore, first approches to decribe the decomposition of the austenitic phase in ferrite, pearlite and martensite have been investigated. The thermo-mechanical coupling is invastigated at first for an one dimensional problem with a linear homogenization method.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Projekt A14: Zweiskalige thermomechanische Simulation des Presshärtens

Ansprechpartner: Dipl.-Ing. Rudolf Neumann
Motivation und Ziele:
Es gibt zur Zeit keine Modelle, die eine geschlossene konstitutive Modellierung des Presshärtens unter Berücksichtigung des anisotropen Materialverhaltens im austenitischen Zustand und der Phasenumwandlungskinetik beim Härtungsvorgang mit Hilfe thermo-mikromechanischer Modelle (TMM) abbilden. Daher soll ein Verfahren entwickelt werden, das sowohl den Umformprozess des austenitischen Bauteils mit Hilfe eines texturbasierten Modells als auch die thermische Behandlung simulieren kann. Dazu soll für die Homogenisierung ein nichtlineares Modell vom Hashin-Shtrikman Typ und für die Phasenumwandlung das Johnson-Mehl-Avrami- und Koistinen-Marburger-Modell verwendet werden. Durch die Kombination der Homogenisierungs- und Phasenumwandlungsmodelle ist die Vorhersage von Eigenspannungen infolge von Phasenumwandlungen möglich. Durch Berücksichtigung der Phasenumwandlungsenthalpien im TMM wird eine thermomechanisch gekoppelte Homogenisierung realisiert.
Untersuchungen Ergebnisse

In der ersten Projektphase soll mittels texturbasierter Modelle der Umformprozess des austenitischen Bauteils simuliert werden. In der zweiten Phase wird das Modell für die Phasenumwandlung beim Abkühlprozess in die Simulation des Presshärtens integriert. Dazu sind folgende Schritte nötig:

  • Formulierung des zweiskaligen kristall-plastischen Modells mit einer Homogenisierungsmethode vom Hashin-Shtrikman Typ
  • Formulierung des Johnson-Mehl-Avrami- und des Koistinen-Marburger-Modells
  • Parameteridentifikation für den presshärtbaren Stahl 22MnB5
  • Simulation des Warmumformens
  • Durchgängige Simulation des Presshärtens

Bisher wurde die nichtlineare Homogenisierungsmethode vom Hashin-Shtrikman Typ ohne thermische Kopplung formuliert und in das kommerzielle FE-Programm Abaqus implementiert.

Erste Rechnungen und Parameterstudien wurden für eine Mikrostruktur bestehend aus zwei homogenen, isotropen und duktilen Phasen durchgeführt.

Weiterhin wurden erste Ansätze zur Beschreibung der Dekomposition des austenitischen Gefüges in Ferrit, Perlit und Martensit untersucht. Die thermomechanische Kopplung wird zur Zeit am eindimensionalen Problem mit einer linearen Homogenisierungsmethode untersucht.