Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Transfer project T-A2: Micromechanical modeling and simulation of forming processes

Person in Charge: Dipl.-Ing. Vedran Glavas
 

Motivation and objectives:
Within the frame of  research training group 1483, the transfer project applies current research topics to industrial problems. The industrial cooperation partner is Constellium, one of the leading companies for aluminum alloys worldwide.
In many cases, phenomenological material models do not provide satisfying results in the forming process of polycrystalline materials. The underlying large deformations and their influence on the evolution of the microstructure may not be neglected. A two scale constitutive model is used for the forming simulations with crystal plasticity material behavior on the micro scale.

Investigations  Results
The beverage can manufacturing process is the first problem considered. A circular blank out of aluminum is drawn in, to form
the cup in a multi-step process.
The crystallographic texture information is known by texture measurements of the aluminum alloy, which will be later on  necessary for the calculation as input for the crystal orientations.
With the simulations, the earing profile (non-uniform cup height
after deep drawing
) is computed and compared to experimental data.
The two step deep drawing in the beverage can manufacturing process is simulated within the framework of the Finite Element Method with a two scale, strongly coupled crystal plasticity material model.
The numerical results show that the crystal plasticity model can predict the earing profile qualitatively. For an improvement of the cup height at 0° to rolling direction, a non-Taylor type model will be considered.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Transferprojekt T-A2: Mikromechanische Modellierung und Simulation von Umformprozessen

Ansprechpartner: Dipl.-Ing. Vedran Glavas
 

Motivation und Ziele:
Im Rahmen dieses Transferprojekts sollen aktuelle Forschungsansätze aus dem Graduiertenkolleg 1483 auf momentane Problemstellungen aus der Industrie angewendet werden. Als Kooperationspartner konnte die Firma Constellium gewonnen werden, die zu den weltweit führenden Unternehmen im Bereich Alluminium Halbzeuge gehört.
Phänomenologische Materialmodelle liefern bei vielen Anwendungen keine zufriedenstellenden Ergebnisse bei Umformprozessen von vielkristallinen Materialien. Hierbei treten große Deformationen auf und die Entwicklung der Mikrostruktur kann nicht vernachlässigt werden.
Für die Umformsimulationen wird ein zweiskaliges Materialmodell mit kristallplastischen Ansätzen auf der Mikroskala verwendet.

Untersuchungen Ergebnisse

Als erste Anwendung wurde der Herstellungsprozess von Getränkedosen betrachtet. Dabei werden in einem mehrstufigen Tiefziehprozess aus Alluminiumblechen Getränkedosen hergestellt. Für die Alluminiumlegierung liegen Texturmessungen vor, die für die spätere Berechnung als Input für die Kristallorientierungen benötigt werden.
Durch die Simulationen wird das Zipfelprofil (nicht-uniforme Dosenhöhe aufgrund von Anisotropien) bestimmt und mit experimentellen Daten verglichen. 

Der zweistufige Tiefziehprozess im Getränkedosen Herstellungsprozess wurde im Rahmen der Finite-Elemente-Methode mit einem zweiskaligem, stark gekoppelten kristallplastischen Materialmodell simuliert.
Das berechnete Zipfelprofil stimmt qualitativ mit den experimentellen Ergebnissen überein. Um eine bessere Übereinstimmung der Zipfel bei 0° (zur Walzrichtung des Blechs) zu erreichen, wird an einem nicht-Taylorartigen Modell gearbeitet